2015 Scholarship Recipients

The West Ohio Conference is pleased to announce the 12 West Ohio students who will receive Next Generations Leadership scholarships for the 2015-16 academic year. Through the generous donations received during The United Methodist Student Day Offering as well as funding through the conference's Connectional Ministries area, the General Board of Higher Education and Ministry and The  West Ohio Conference provides scholarships to qualified West Ohio students who are attending accredited institutions of higher education. The Next Generation Leadership Scholarships are awarded to support young students in their pursuit of God’s calling in their lives, becoming strong leaders here and across the denomination.

The various scholarship categories listed below support students with a range of goals, backgrounds, needs and abilities.Students who were chosen for the scholarships are active members of a United Methodist Church in West Ohio and have demonstrated strong achievement, involvement and leadership in their churches, schools and communities. Each student provided two letters of reference that spoke to their character as well as transcripts showing their dedication to academic success. It is the hope of the West Ohio Conference and Next Generations Leadership Team that these and all West Ohio students gain strength, courage and wisdom in their education, faith, and calling this fall. Scholarships given to these students reached a combined total of $13,420.


Ethnic Minority and Leadership Scholarship


Andres de Arco
American University
Mason United Methodist Church

Merit Scholarships

Ashley Mills
Methodist Theological School in Ohio
Worthington United Methodist Church

John Henderson
Methodist Theological School in Ohio
Church of the Master United Methodist Church

Leadership Scholarships

Macy Fraylick
Miami University
New Madison UMC

Rachel Schilling
Calvin College
Maumee UMC

Elizabeth Sheetz
University of Cincinatti
Church of the Saviour UMC


Amy Wiles
Ohio Northern University
Millersport UMC

Jacob McGinty
Ohio University
Lebanon UMC

Elizabeth Mazza
Northern Kentucky University
Cheviot UMC

Hannah Lamb
Ohio Northern University
St. Paul's UMC

Sam Law
Capital University
Cornerstone UMC

Jordan Waugh
Miami University
Monroe UMC