2019 Election Information

Qualified clergy and lay members of the West Ohio Annual Conference are invited to become candidates for election to the West Ohio Delegation to the 2020 General Conference and the 2020 North Central Jurisdiction Conference in The United Methodist Church. The election of delegates will take place during the 2019 West Ohio Annual Conference Session, June 2-6, 2019.

It is both an honor and a responsibility to serve as a delegate. It provides you the opportunity to be involved in the denomination and work with United Methodists throughout the nation and world, praying, worshipping together and deciding legislation.

  • What is General Conference?

General Conference is the top policy-making body of The United Methodist Church. The 862-member assembly regularly meets once every four years to consider revisions to church law, as well as adopt resolutions on current moral, social, public policy and economic issues. It also approves plans and budgets for church-wide programs for the next four years. The 2020 General Conference session is scheduled to meet from May 5, 2020 to May 15, 2020 in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

  • What is Jurisdictional Conference?

The constitution of The United Methodist Church established five jurisdictions within the United States and it specifies which states will be a part of each. Each jurisdiction is responsible for boundaries of annual conferences within those states and electing its own bishops. West Ohio is part of the North Central Jurisdiction. The 2020 jurisdictional session will be held from July 15 to July 18, 2020 in Fort Wayne.

  • How many delegates will be elected from West Ohio?

This year we will elect a General Conference delegation from West Ohio of seven clergy (deacons and elders) and seven laity. We will also elect an additional seven laity and seven clergy delegates for the North Central Jurisdictional Conference. Finally, seven clergy and seven lay alternates to the Jurisdictional Conference will be elected. Jurisdictional delegates are the alternates for General Conference.

  • What does a delegate do at the General or Jurisdictional Conferences?

General Conference delegates are assigned to a legislative committee. They study resolutions that have been submitted for changes to The Book of Discipline. They divide into work groups to summarize and present information to the entire delegation to address legislation. They vote on legislation which then becomes The Book of Discipline.  The focus of Jurisdictional delegates is the election of new bishops.

  • What is the time commitment for a delegate?

Delegates should be prepared to invest themselves fully in the General and Jurisdictional Conferences. There is a 17-day commitment of conference meetings plus regular meetings in advance with thousands of pages to review to prepare for legislation. Meetings at both conferences start at 8:00 am and can last until 9:00 pm or later. 

  • Who is eligible to become a delegate?

Clergy: Part I. Division Two, ¶ 35. Article IV.— The clergy delegates to the General Conference and to the jurisdictional or central conference shall be elected from the clergy members in full connection and shall be elected by the clergy members of the annual conference or provisional annual conference who are deacons and elders in full connection, associate members, and those provisional members who have completed all of their educational requirements and local pastors who have completed course of study or an M. Div. degree and have served a minimum of two consecutive years under appointment immediately preceding the election.
Laity: Part I. Division Two, ¶ 36. Article V.— The lay delegates to the General and jurisdictional or central conferences shall be elected by the lay members of the annual conference or provisional annual conference without regard to age, provided such delegates shall have been professing members of The United Methodist Church for at least two years next preceding their election, and shall have been active participants in The United Methodist Church for at least four years next preceding their election, and are members thereof within the annual conference electing them at the time of holding the General and jurisdictional or central conferences.

Questions? Email any West Ohio Conference Election Team member:

  • Co-Chair: Bruce Boyd, bboyd [at] (subject: Election%20Team%20Question) , 937-726-9138
  • Co-Chair: Cyndy Garn, cyndylg [at] (subject: Election%20Team%20Question) , 614-226-3035
  • Christina Albrecht, christina.albrecht23 [at] (subject: Election%20Team%20Question) , 614-545-8645
  • Alethea Botts, abotts [at] (subject: Election%20Team%20Question) , 740-453-4192
  • Leroy Chambliss, l.f.chambliss [at] (subject: Election%20Team%20Question) , 937-609-2052
  • Ron Fanning, rfanning [at], 419-305-3305
  • Matt Overman, moverman [at] (subject: Election%20Team%20Question) , 419-733-3586
  • Sherri Rogers, sherrilynnrogers [at] (subject: Election%20Team%20Question) , 740-216-7079